Team

Principal Investigator

Ryan Stowe

Credentials: Ph.D. The Scripps Research Institute, 2016; B.A. Albion College, 2010

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: rstowe@chem.wisc.edu

Research Associates

Vanessa Ralph

Credentials: Ph.D. University of South Florida, 2020; M.S. University of Florida, 2015; B.S. Biomedical Sciences, 2011

Position title: Research Associate

Email: vralph@wisc.edu

Adam Schafer

Credentials: Ph.D. Miami University, 2020; M.S. Illinois State University, 2016; B.S. Illinois State University, 2011

Position title: Research Associate

Email: agschafer@wisc.edu

Graduate Students

Kimberly DeGlopper

Credentials: B.S., Hope College, 2017

Position title: Graduate Student

Email: kdeglopper@wisc.edu

Prayas Sutar

Credentials: M.A., Tata Institute of Social Sciences; B.T., Central Institute of Plastics Engineering and Technology

Position title: Graduate Student

Email: psutar@wisc.edu

Cara Schwarz

Credentials: M.S. UW - Madison, 2017; B.S. UW - Madison, 2015

Position title: Graduate Student

Email: ceschwarz@wisc.edu

Undergraduate Researchers

Danny Chavez

Position title: Undergraduate Researcher

Email: dchavez3@wisc.edu

Interested in joining a team working to improve chemistry learning environments and refine the theoretical commitments that could and should inform chemistry education research? The Stowe Group might be a good fit for your scholarly interests! See below for information on how to apply.

Undergraduates

We are looking for several undergraduate researchers to join our team in order to assist with data collection and analysis for ongoing projects. Undergraduates can expect to receive substantial mentorship from more senior group members. Interested individuals should contact Ryan at rstowe@chem.wisc.edu for more information.

Graduate Students 

Current UW Madison graduate students who want to pursue a research agenda related to the design and assessment of chemistry learning environments should arrange a meeting with Ryan to discuss their interests. Those interested in joining the University of Wisconsin – Madison graduate program who intend to pursue chemistry education research should apply for admission to the graduate school. Information can be found here. Prospective students should feel free to contact Ryan to discuss their plans.